Sir James Smith's Community School

NCLT logo


Year 11 Exams - Summer 2022

To see the Year 11 Exams timetable for Summer 2022, please click here.

Exam Guidance 2021 to 2022

Please click here to see Exam Guidance 2021 to 2022 details.

Revision and Exam Top Tips

Please click here to see details of 'Revision and Exam Top Tips'

Assessment and Exam Anxiety

Please click here to see "Dealing with Assessment and Exam Anxiety".


Please click here to see Malpractice and how to avoid it.

Exam Boards

There are lots of resources to support you in your study and revision direct from the Awarding Body’s websites.  Click on the relevant links below for more information.

Explaining the 9 to 1 GCSE Grades 

GCSEs in England are being reformed and will be graded with a new scale from 9 to 1, with 9 being the highest grade. English literature, English language and Maths will be the first subjects to be graded in this way from August 2017. The subjects with the highest numbers of candidates (e.g. arts, humanities, languages) will follow in 2018 and most others in 2019. This is happening as GCSEs are being reformed to make them more challenging, to keep pace with employers’ and universities demands.

In the first year each new GCSE subject is introduced, students who would have got a grade C or better will get a grade 4 or better. Students who would have got a Grade A or better will get a 7 or better in the first year. Grade 9 will be more difficult to achieve than a grade A*. The extra top grade will also make it easier for employers and universities to distinguish between the most able students.

To see how the numbered grades compare to the current A* to G system google “ofqual 9 to 1 postcard”.  More information about when subjects will switch to the new grades is available on the Ofqual website here.